Hockey Penalties : Hockey Penalties: Charging

Hockey Penalties : Hockey Penalties: Charging


Now we’re going to show you charging. The
hang signal for charging is like this. And this happens when you take more than three
strides to hit another player. This can happen when you have the puck or without the puck.
I’m going to demonstrate. Let’s say I’m coming in and I dump the puck in. The player’s going
to get the puck, I don’t have the puck. I’m taking more than three strides and I make
the hit up against the boards. You’re going to get called for charging. Also if, let’s
say the goalie’s just in its crease, and I take three strides and I hit him like that.
You’re going to get called for charging. And that is a minor penalty also. And that’s the
charging penalty.

7 thoughts on “Hockey Penalties : Hockey Penalties: Charging

  1. more than 3 strides without a drift inbetween them. If your going to try and cover something like hockey penalties, you should include as many of the technicalities as you can. There is a lot of loop holes in penalties.

  2. yeah i mean i dont wanna be rude here, but as a a 5-year referee, I must say that is not the correct definition of charging. First off, its more than 2 strides, secondly, its continuous strides….a player can take as many strides as he wants as long as he glides into his opponent. It just taking two strides were the case, you would have very boring hockey, and almost every hit would be called a penalty

    hope that clears up any confusion.

    also. hitting the goalie in the crease is interference

  3. He didn't say anything about leaving your feet just prior to a hit… that'll get you a charging call. And yeah- as others have said… the number of strides is really irrelevant. When do you start counting strides? It's really about whether you stride directly into the contact.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *